Anthropologists & Sociologists of Kentucky History

ASK History CollageThe idea for Anthropologists and Sociologists of Kentucky (ASK) came about in 1962, and the first annual meeting was held in the spring of 1963 at the University of Kentucky with George A. Hillery of the University of Kentucky as the first president. The second annual meeting was held in the spring of 1964 at Transylvania University with Father William Hogan of Bellarmine College as the second president. The third annual meeting at Eastern Kentucky University (then Eastern Kentucky State College) in 1965 found fifty-six ASK members from sixteen schools in attendance despite the heavy snow. Annual meetings were held every spring until the freak snow storm of March 1980 dumped a foot of snow on the meeting’s location at Morehead State University, forcing participants to caravan home through the snow or remain at the meeting site for additional days. With the October 1981 event at Louisville’s Jefferson Community College, annual meetings were transferred to the autumn. A student paper competition was begun in the late 1970s, and from 1999 on the competition has been named for its financial benefactor, Larry Webster. Many illustrious individuals have given keynote addresses at the meetings over the years, including anthropologist Ward Goodenough who spoke at the 1994 event at Kentucky State University. In 2009 this student paper competition was renamed for the first ASK archivist, Jules Delambre, who passed away in 2005. While ASK meetings occasionally have been held at hotels in Lexington and Louisville, they have been held most frequently on college campuses. Among the colleges and universities who have hosted the meetings, many several times, are: the University of Kentucky, University of Louisville, Northern Kentucky University, Eastern Kentucky University, Western Kentucky University (and Glasgow Campus), Kentucky State University, Morehead State University, Murray State University, Transylvania University, Spalding University, Campbellsville University, Georgetown College, Berea College, Kentucky Southern College, Thomas More College, Jefferson Community College, Pikeville College, and Centre College.